top of page

New Denoiser is kicking SSS


Check out this video tutorial I've recorded last weekend.


As Maxwell 5.2 is out, beside some handy nifty features it brings the fully revamped Denoiser. That is both faster and easier to use.

In the video above, I'll walk you through the main setting that I use when dealing with noise in Subsurface Scattering materials. And also shed some light at how the scene is set up - to give you a sense of the scene scale, materials, lights, and camera setup.


So I let the scene render for 10 minutes, deliberatlely, and it reached the sampling level of ~7.8 (so, yeah - pretty noisy)

Here's the side to side comparison of original render (left) and denoised version (right)

Just to recap, It's a 2k image that has a 3D scanned mesh with Subsurface scattering material, and it was rendered only for 10 minutes - sounds like a win for me. I know it's not ideal and original image has quite a noisy parts while denoised image lacks details in some areas - but hey - SSS in 10 mins 🤷‍♀️.

The purpose of this exercise, and video in general is to show how easy it is to get pretty manageable results in only 10 minutes for your quick previews - the best part is that, since it's Maxwell, you can always come back and hit - RESUME button and continue rendering from where you've stopped 😎


More Denoiser videos to come - I still feel that I have a few more tricky materials to cover.


Cheers!


Oh, by the way, the amazingly detailed 3D scanned Godzilla figurine is made by Laser Design and you can grab it HERE for free. And if curious - HDR image that I've used in my scene for Image Based Lighting is part of this unfairly cool collection made by Maxime Roz - and you can grab it HERE - also fo free.

bottom of page