top of page

Through Frosty-Glass, and What I Found There

Recorded it quite a while ago but only recently found time to upload it.


First off - gotta say - working with frosted glass in Maxwell Render is something special. The way engine applies roughness on transparent objects feels different from what other engines do.


Check out that video to see how I've set up the scene (super simple) and comparison of different denoising settings.




In fact, when I was experimenting with denoiser, I've created 3 versions of the same frosted glass - with different roughness values. Check out my behance page to see how denoiser works on them too.


Good exercise to observe how roughness in Maxwell takes depth of the object into account, instead of just blurring the surface.




And you've probably noticed that on roughness 16 and 26 - rim lights are stronger .. that's the R2 magic.


At some point I realised that on higher roughness values we start to loose some of that reflection brightness and colour (which in our case are primary elements that help us to define our look and feel) - so I had to tweak the fresnel curve a little bit to bring back that vividness.




These days are crazy busy and it's great. We're in the middle of extremely interesting research and it's amazing.


Cheers! 🙌🏼

bottom of page